top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBirsty Krewerton

The Dread

The dread.

Legs of lead

palms of sweat

in the car I get.


Autopilot.


Muscle memory

of the journey

allows the mind to drift

anticipating

the awaiting shift.


Thoughts wander

to crashing the car.

Hope for broken legs,

6 weeks on crutches

worth it

to ensure a rest

and avoid these night shifts.


Find a parking space

and take a breath

dont want to release myself from the comforting cwtch of my seat belt

and emerge from the safety

of my Seat Altea.


Foreboding darkness

unnatural lights flicker

Is it morse code I wonder?

S-O-S


Like insects

drawn to the glare

we file in.

The brightness

too harsh

for the reality.


Before I reach the doors

I see them.

Lined against walls

snaked round corners

a tube map of humans.


We weave our way through them.


Eyes searching ours

Hopeful

I recognise the ambo crew

they give me that look,

that look that says

you’re in for a rough one –

turn around and run.


But you can’t,

so you walk on


Before taking off my coat

I’m told to go straight to resus

Blue light en route – eta 2 minutes.

Cardiac arrest.


Lob my bag in a locker

push through trollies

stacked in corridors

get to resus - it’s already full.


Three patients in there,

should only be two.

Time to make a decision

Who is it safest to move?


A game of human Tetris ensues

Shuffling beds between spaces.

We decide moving the patient with raging sepsis

is likely the least dangerous

in comparison

to the guy overdosed

unable to breathe on his own

and the haemorrhaging stroke

next to him with intermittent seizures.


So sepsis patient is demoted

to the main department.


As I wipe down the equipment

in rolls the ambo

Compressions on the go

2 shocks and adrenaline on route

but still no heartbeat.


Task in gloved hand

We descend

Armed with an algorithm

we try to reverse death.


It’s not his time yet.

A young dad

A silly argument

A suicide attempt

Another shock – stand back….


A heartbeat


FUCKING YES!!!!


A millisecond to celebrate

Then straight into post arrest treatment:

oxygen, bloods, ECG, get ITU to accept.


You go with him upstairs

Speak to his wife and kids

try to handover to the team

but the phone rings.


“You need to get back down to resus,

one more coming in”

I could really do with a wee

but remember I’m the only one ILS trained


Just time to record obs

and administer drugs

to your other two patients

when the door swings open.


An old dear

exacerbation of COPD

purple, lips pursed,

sat up tripoding

oxygen probe not recording.


You suddenly realise

the doc hasn’t answered his bleep.

You’re on your own kid.


Ambo couldn’t get access,

woman fighting for breath

split second decisions - life or death

Fuck it, pull the emergency bell.


Whack in a cannula,

back to back nebs,

steroids drawn up

ABG syringe prepped.


Bleep outreach

tell them CPAP likely needed.

The locum doc strolls in

asks what all the fuss is

as you wave a vial of hydrocortisone

whilst screaming “can I give this??”


And so it continues

for twelve and a half hours

relentlessly

with no break

until it’s finally over.


You creep guiltily

past the trolleys with eyes pleading

Heart sinking for colleagues

another understaffed shift.


Walk out to a steady stream of ambulances,

the natural light blinding

too bright for the memory

of the night you leave behind.


Join morning traffic and wonder

do they know where I’ve been?

Can they see as they pass on their daily routine?

Can they feel my anguish?


I shake it away.


Get in, quick cuddle

Crawl to bed

and try to quell

the anxiety rising.


It’s like that feeling

when you go on holiday

and there’s a nagging

in your head and stomach

telling you there’s something important you’ve forgotten.


Imagine that times 1000.


An impossible workload is dangerous

Not just for patients but also the workforce.


The weight of feeling inadequate

no matter what.

Promised to do no harm

but it’s now eventual.


I pull the blinds, shut my eyes

cross my fingers and pray.

Which is ridiculous as i’m not religious

but it’s all I have left.


First class honours

Batchelor of Science

but I’m asking God, Grandma, Nan, Jesus –

basically anyone up there who might listen

to keep my patients safe from our mistakes. Pray I won’t lose my registration or get arrested.


Then I remember

I saved a life last night

And drift to sleep.


I wake, I dread

I get out of bed

for another night shift from hell .


I make a plan

to ring and ask

how cardiac arrest man

is getting on.


At least it’s a reason to go to work

I trudge in.


Meet a pal in the staff room

“Well done – heard you got a guy back last night”

I nod, shrug and say

“Haven’t heard how he’s getting on yet.

I’m just going to ring upstairs before handover”


She said

“No worries, you go ahead”


I pick up the phone

“Hi its, the nurse from resus last night - how’s cardiac arrest guy?”


“Ahh yeah sorry, you did well

but….. I’m afraid


he’s brain dead…


organs due to be harvested…


Family are with him now

before he goes to theatre.”


“Ok, thanks for letting me know”


And off I go to handover.

129 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Culture

“Don’t submit” he said “Get streetwise instead. “Educate yourselves it will save all this mess.” Words misplaced and empty thrown flippantly to wash the blame away. Interesting concept; manipulating t

-100,001

Last week Boris and his band of overpaid children announced they were using the NHS as a scapegoat for increasing National Insurance contributions. Whilst he was gaslighting a nation, I was working my

Open letter to Nadine Dorries...

Dear Minister for Mental Health, I am writing to ask you desist in continually gaslighting NHS staff and spreading misinformation regarding the the profession you allegedly once were part of. I find i

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page